Meketa Connectives: China Dominates BRICS Summit

September 2023

The BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa) intergovernmental organization recently met for its fifteenth annual summit in Johannesburg, South Africa from August 22nd to 24th.

What created headline buzz this year was the invitation of six other countries to join the organization: Saudi Arabia, Ethiopia, Egypt, United Arab Emirates, Iran, and Argentina. On the surface, there is no obvious commonality among these countries other than that some are not represented in other existing multilateral organizations such as the G20. They have very different systems of government and varied economies, both from each other and from the current BRICS members.